Oh no, here comes another newbie question...

General discussion about piano makes, problems with pianos, or just seeking advice.

Moderators: Feg, Gill the Piano, Melodytune

skewball2

Oh no, here comes another newbie question...

Post by skewball2 »

Hi everyone

Please don't despair completely as I have doen some research first before ploughing in with my 'what piano should I buy' question. But, I still need help and I'm hoping this is the right place!!

Right then. I am a beginner. I started playig the piano when I was a kid but gave up. Now have two sprogs of my own and as well as wanting to play again myself (really looking forward to it actually), we would like the kids to grow up learning to play (until they give up like I did no doubt!!)

Now to the pianos. My budget is understandibly limited as we don't exactly know how we will all get on (keen as we are now) so we can't go mad. I would definatley not like to go beyond £3k. And that really is an absolute max.

Fortunatley in terms of decision making it was looking oh so easy (until yesterday - more later)

Firstly my father recently bought a Yamaha B1. Very nice I thought, played it using my old learning books before trying to bash out 'If I were a rich man' (I wish indeed). Sounds fine to my untrained ear - he bought it from a local dealer whose rep is good.

Second pience of the puzzle was that we decided we wanted a 'silent' piano. The piano is going to go in the lounge and as our kids a still young it seems a great idea on many levels - firstly so I can practice while the wife watched 'The resturant' (as it would be tonight anyway) and secondly we will appreciate it when the kids are practicing later!!

SO, its all looking very very nice. The B1 does indeed have this option. The B1 seems to have good write ups, especially for the money, its an ideal size for us and seems to suit amateurs down to the ground. The price is dooable.

BUT.

I start doing more reaearch.